Published an Extension to Chrome Webstore and Microsoft Edge Add-ons

Published an Extension to Chrome Webstore and Microsoft Edge Add-ons

Publishing Options

There are three main browsers you can publish Chrome extensions to. Chrome (duh), Microsoft Edge, and Opera/Opera GX. So far I've looked into the first two.

Microsoft Edge Add-ons (Microsoft Edge)

This one is the cheapest and easiest option. Once you sign up for the Edge Partner Program (100% free), you can immediately start uploading your extension(s) (also 100% free).

Chrome Webstore (Chrome)

This is the more expensive of the two. You have to pay a $5 Developer Registration fee. Only after that, you can upload extensions (for free) from that account.

Comparisons

Extension Forms

For Microsoft Addons, you have to fill out your extension's name, description, and other details. You have to make and upload your extension's screenshots, and select the language (en - English, es - Spanish, etc). Chrome Webstore will take the description and other details from your manifest.json. You will still have to make and upload your screenshots.

Chrome Webstore Note

Just take note, for the Chrome Webstore you will have to justify why you requested certain permissions. For example, if your manifest.json said:

"permissions": [
        "clipboardWrite"
]

You would have to justify why you requested the "clipboardWrite" permission. Take a look below:

Justifying your Chrome Extension Permissions

Review Times

I have very limited data on this comparison, but I will give you what I have. Microsoft took 2 days to approve my extension and 3 days to approve an update to it. Google on the other hand took 4 days to approve my extension.

What I published

If you want the full details and what extension I developed and what my experience was like, please look at my previous blog.

If you would like to download my extension, you may do so down below, any support is appreciated :)
Chrome Webstore: https://chrome.google.com/webstore/detail/spanish-input-tools/dkbgodmmblfcnfledmedmepimmpebnjo
Microsoft Edge Add-ons: https://microsoftedge.microsoft.com/addons/detail/spanish-input-tools/aoehggnalolhonphifnooepocfjpghfl?hl=en-US

For those who download it, please leave a comment on the extension's page letting me know of any suggestions you may have.

ย